Lobben Winter Boots (aka Elf Booties)

15 Oct

To be or not to be Santa’s little helper.  That is the question.  There are 2 brands of heavy duty felt boots from which to choose up here on the tundra: Lobben winter boots and Steger Mukluks.  So I can look like an elf or an Alaskan native.  Unfortunately, I can only purchase the Minnesota-made Mukluks online, while the Norway-made elf boots are sold locally at Beaver Sports.  Go figure.  My sister-in-law first told me about these “famous” boots a few months ago.  We looked up photos online and had a good laugh.  When I saw them at the store, I was excited because as I recalled my siter-in-law said “trendy” gals in Fairbanks wear Lobben boots.  For sure, one of my main objectives is to be a trendy Alaskan.

So what do you think?  This type of elf boot comes in gray and red.  I’m attracted to bright colors, so I went with the red.  Plus, it fits with the whole Christmas theme.  Although, it would clash with all my pink…

DSC_8699ccweb

See, the boots aren’t so bad when they’re peeking out from under your jeans.

DSC_8702ccweb

Here are the illustrious boots sans my beautiful feet.

DSC_8704ccweb

Notice the native-esque trim – very popular in Alaska.DSC_8707ccweb

Although I think these elf boots are slightly silly, I also kind of like them!  They’re FUN!  I was pretty excited about them too until I reported my finding to my sister-in-law and she informed me that she had been joking about the Lobben boots and thought they were “hideous!”  Hideous is an awfully strong word.  They’re not that bad…Are they?

I’ve seen two pairs of Steger Mukluks in person: one belonging to my mother-in-law and the other to a friend. They’re definitely nice quality shoes and my friend’s pair was pretty cute (Traditional Maple Natural Mukluks). But, I still think I’d rather look like an elf. I just don’t think I can pull off the native look – I mean I just got off the boat!

Plus, just think of all the fun photo ops that await me in the bright red elf booties!

Give me some feedback please…Any suggestions on winter boots?

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=lithouonthetu-20&o=1&p=26&l=ur1&category=endless&banner=0VR26J9KW2FFT2FKPG82&m=endless&f=ifr

6 Responses to “Lobben Winter Boots (aka Elf Booties)”

  1. des October 15, 2009 at 6:09 am #

    go with bunny boots…

  2. Gretchen October 15, 2009 at 4:01 pm #

    I like the elf-booties! I think they are adorable. Not hideous at all. What makes them so great? Are they super warm? I wish you could order them online, I’m kinda tempted to get a pair myself…

  3. Becca October 16, 2009 at 10:07 pm #

    No offense… but I’m with your sister-in-law. They do make a statement, but is it a statement you’ll want to make next year and the year after that??

  4. Autumn October 19, 2009 at 6:42 pm #

    what??! what ARE these? are they meant to be worn outside? like, in the SNOW and ice and water?? they’re made out of felt! how very gilmore girls (next you’ll be sitting down on ice-cold steps and sidewalks while snow glitters all around you).

  5. Jennifer January 25, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    LOVE the lobben boots. AND i have 2 very Alaskan female friends who wear them and love them. What did you end up with?

  6. lhenn516 October 30, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

    Without question these are by far the best winter boots you can buy. The only thing you have to remember is, they are for Arctic conditions only, which means you do not want to wear them in wet or slushy weather. In dry, frigid conditions (and with wool socks) you could stay outside all day in these and your feet will stay warm & dry.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

